How to Build an Online Presence – Step 3

Having some growing pains….. The last couple of weeks I’ve posted about how to get started building your presence online. So far we have:

Step 1 – Just Do It – Don’t wait until everything is just right!
Step 2 – How often should we update our blog! The more the Merrier!

As I mentioned in step 2 I’m learning as I go and sharing what I learn with you! Well, as you can tell its been a week since I’ve updated. It’s been a busy, stressful week with so much going on, I just couldn’t think of a thing to post so…

Step 3 – Write when the mood hits and save it for when it doesn’t! Lets face it, life can get very hectic and sometimes its hard to write on demand! I know I can’t! So, if you’ve posted today and you have another great nugget to post, then go ahead and write it, but wait a day or two to post it on your blog. Just keep saving them as drafts.

That way when you have a week that is either very busy or so laid back that you don’t get the things done that you want or should you have a post or two to fall back on! That way, if you find yourself, with no current blog when Blogger Monday starts you’re not left with nothing to post!

Step 3 Write when the mood hits and save it for when it doesn’t!

28 Responses to How to Build an Online Presence – Step 3

  1. Amy Pryor says:

    I struggle with this a lot. I am really inspired one day and have all these things flowing out of me and the next day I have nothing. I haven’t thought about doing the “draft” thing. That is a good tip. I know I’ll struggle with wanting to send it when I’m done, even if I’ve posted that day already. I need a little more patience. I also wonder how many times I should post the same blog throughout the day. Hmmmm….

  2. I know this to be the right strategy–to write and save drafts for when you need them–but it’s been hard for me not to go one blog at a time for the targeted day. But for writing in general I’ve become more able to grab that moment of motivation and write–whatever I write, whether a blog or some other kind of entry.

    By the way, I think Amy is asking about how often to announce a blog during the course of the day (presumably by posting on FB). I’m thinking that’s what she means because I’ve wondered the same thing. If I post to my FB feed in the morning about a new blog, should I post again later in the day? It seems the feeds move so fast, it’s hard to think that people will see the announcements.

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer
    http://www.thereflectivewriter.com

    • Jean Bentley says:

      If you can write one blog a day, you probably don’t have to write and save. I think as I grow and become more confident with what I write they’ll come easier. But there are days when I feel like what could I possibly have to say that anyone else who care enough about to read!

  3. Junie says:

    I was thinking about that earlier Jean. Sometimes I have all these ideas and want to write them down before I forget them. I didn’t think to write the blogs and just save as drafts. I’ll have to remember that ~ thanks for the good advice!

  4. Great tip. Actually I did this a few weeks ago and found myself needing to post and found my “Are You Living On Purpose” draft. I made a few changes and viola…I had a post ready to go. I think it is also good sometimes to write and revisit. For me, the edits are what make the post readable.

    • Jean Bentley says:

      That’s great Darcie! That’s a great point, when we write drafts we should go back and reread and make any edits we feel are needed before posting!

      Thanks for your comment Darcie!

  5. Jean, I’m moved to say thank you for reinforcing something I believe.

  6. chrislwagner says:

    Jean, that’s the only way I can write a post. When I first started, I would write about pet illnesses or something like that. It ended up being like a term paper since I’m not a vet and had to do a lot of research. Now I prefer to post when I’m inspired. I find when it comes from the heart, it’s a much better post. Thanks for your tips.

  7. Jean – Your step number 1 is right on. When I thought about starting a blog a good friend told me, “just start blogging” and it was the best blogging advice I’ve ever received. Waiting ‘til all the planets are aligned, that’s pretty funny. Like, it’ll never happen, right?

    Sometimes when I write a post, or two, the temptation to publish right way is strong. But you’re right… it’s a great idea to save them for another day. I’ve found that posting M, W, F, consistently works for me. And then I’ll publish short posts in between sometimes. I also write when the mood hits, but sometimes that’s a luxury.

    I believe that consistency is the key.

    Love your series.I look forward to getting to know you!
    ~Theresa

    • Jean Bentley says:

      Thank you Theresa for the kind words! I’m so glad your received such good advise from your friend. You’re right consistancy in key. I don’t have a set schedule and it maybe why I struggle sometimes and put it off for another day! M, W, & F is a great idea!

      Look forward to getting to know you also!
      Jean

  8. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by JeanBentley, Tisha Berg. Tisha Berg said: Good article! RT @bigfishtopdogs: How to Build an Online Presence – Step 3: http://t.co/ghPdT4d […]

  9. Ann teaches to aim for 3 times a week so that’s what I do with an extra 1 or 2 if I’m feeling very creative. I’m also learning to get the ideas down quickly even if it’s a quick few idea words in a draft. I’ve also started using notes on my sexy new iphone to write ideas that come while I’m out.Good tips Jean!
    Louise Edington
    International Au pair Finder

  10. Donna McCord says:

    Great advice! I have run into that problem of waiting until the last minute to get my weekly blog done, and then wished I had taken the time to write when I had an idea earlier that now I have forgotten about! Comes with age, I think! Thank you for reconfirming what I should be doing!

    • Jean Bentley says:

      Donna, I have this problem a lot. I like Louise’s idea of keeping notes on her phone. Lets face it, most of us keep our phones close by, most of the time.

      Thanks for the comment Donna!

  11. Thanks for the tips, Jean. I often plan to write a series a head of time and schedule the posting. When it happens, great…when it doesn’t it can cause a traffic jam…or a dead-stop on my blog 🙂
    Brandy Mychals
    Split Second Perceptions

    • Jean Bentley says:

      Brandy, I really enjoy your series! It makes sense to write the whole series a head of time. to say but my blog has come to a dead stop a time or two. This is a lesson I’ve learned the hard way!

      Thanks for your comment and the series tip!

  12. I’ve found that the more frequently I post, the more hits I generate. It’s hard to hit “publish” when I know it’s not my “best” piece, but I know that consistency is extremely important.
    I also utilize your tip of writing several pieces and saving as drafts. Plus, I have my “story ideas” folder with dozens of “starts”, so to speak.
    Nice blog, Jean! Just keep writing 🙂

    • Jean Bentley says:

      Hiedi,
      You’re right consistency is very important, something I need to work on. I get so caught up in school and homework, watching my grandson and working the p/t job that many, many days can go by without the blog even crossing my mind!

      Need to start and idea folder or ever notepad, something I can keep handy! I should do what Louise does and utilize my phone.

      Thanks for the comments and the tips!
      Jean

  13. Hi Jean,
    I know the feeling! When I travel and I sit in the airplane, I write for my blog or if I have a moment (or a lot of ideas). When I am on vacation, my blog isn´t because all I have to do is post one of those saved articles every other day.

    Always carry a piece of paper and a pen with you in case you have an idea, write it down immediately because you will not remember later (I even have a pen next to my bed..),
    way to go Jean 🙂

    Franziska San Pedro
    Flavor Designs

    • Jean Bentley says:

      Franziska, Carrying a piece of paper and pen is another great idea! Do you have a place where you store all your pieces of paper? I’m invisioning a a show box with all sorts of different sized pieced of paper, some nice and neat, some crinkled from bring in a pocket or purse for too long. Or do you have a much more organized way of doing it?

  14. Jean, I have discovered why I should be subscribing to blogs like yours. The comments and your replies have expanded your original post. Thanks

  15. Jean Bentley says:

    Aw, you just made my day! Thank you so much for that comment, Michael, it is very appreciated!

  16. […] Ziola Bently mentioned growing pains in her blog post last week. I can […]

Leave a Reply

