Reap what you sow!

What’s that old saying, “No good deed goes unpunished”!  I think I like the Bible’s version, that we reap what we sow a lot better.  Sure I think we’ve all tried to do something nice for someone and it backfired on us, but what about the time you did something nice and out of nowhere you were repaid in kind.  How often have you let someone with fewer items than you go in front of you in line at the discount store?  Has anyone ever let you go, in front of them?  How did it make you feel?  Better yet, how did it make you feel when you let that person go in front of you? 

 Have you ever stopped to give someone money who had one of those signs “Homeless – Will work for food?”  I have, but sadly, I have also passed those folk bye and didn’t give them a second thought.  I didn’t have to stop the other day, the man knocked on our door.  He drove up our neighbors drive when I was out playing with the dog.  I few minutes after I came inside there was a knock on our door, my husband answered and stepped outside.  When he didn’t come back in right away, I got curious, okay, I got nosey and wanted to know who was at the door.  Yep, it was the guy I had seen on my neighbors drive a few minutes earlier.  When I walked in on the conversation he was telling my husband that he and his wife had moved back to town to find work and he would trim our trees for $50 but he just wanted to sleep in a hotel, instead of in his tiny pick-up and do some laundry.   He kept on about where they spent the night before, why they were moving back etc.  We told him to wait a minute and we stepped inside.  I asked my husband what he thought of this guy removing the peach tree that was laying in our back yard from the last storm, that we didn’t have a chainsaw to remove, and having him haul it to the curb for yard waste pick-up.  My husband checked his cash and all we had was $50, which is what the man wanted.  I struggled, the tree needed to be removed but I didn’t want to give the guy all our cash.  Well, we did and the guy did a great job, even hauled the branches my husband had cut from some bushes to the curb.   

 Here’s the thing, there is a point to me telling you this and why I believe what the Bible says about you reap what you sow.  The guy came to our house on Saturday, Sunday evening I was getting my work cloths ready for the next day, and decided I’d wear earrings to work, which I’ve done once in 18 months, well, when I opened my little box with my earrings, there was $100 bill folded up inside!  I showed my husband and asked him if he had put it there before his last business trip and he said that he hadn’t.   He smiled at me and said, “I guess God is happy with us helping the guy yesterday!”  How did the money get there?  Frankly, I don’t care!  Could it have been money I hid a few weeks ago?  Maybe!  All I know is that when we gave that man all the cash we had in our house, the next day we reaped twice as much as we sowed the day before!

 I would love to hear about the times when you’ve done something nice for someone who you knew could never pay you back and then you got paid back some other way!

One Response to Reap what you sow!

  1. Cassie says:

    Great story! I really enjoyed it. It’s so true. I can’t think of a story off hand, but I know it has happened. Thanks for sharing your story.

Leave a Reply

