How do you handle customer complaints?

I don’t know about you but I hate calling a business with a complaint.  There have been times when I have walked away from a phone call feeling completely frustrated or  have told the person on the other end of the phone that “I’m going to hang up now before I say something I can’t take back”, then hang up.  This morning at church the pastor was talking about prayer.  What does prayer have to do with customer support?  Indulge me for a minute.   During the service the pastor mentioned that God leans in when we pray.   What picture comes to your mind?  The one that came to my mind was of me and God sitting together talking with him leaning forward with His elbows resting on His knees, looking me in the eyes, totally engrossed in what I was saying.  It’s a great feeling, isn’t it?  Knowing that the person you’re talking to really cares about what you have to say.  Doesn’t it make you feel valued and important!  

Now get a picture of how your customers feel when they call you or your business about a problem or concern?   How different are these pictures?   Wouldn’t it build great customer loyalty and increase your referral rate if a customer walked away from a phone call or from a visit to your customer service department feeling as if they’ve been heard and that your business actually cared about their complaint? 

Leave a Reply

